franchises, fines and surplus funds from municipal enterprises.

Newfoundland has 313 incorporated municipalities comprised of three cities, one metropolitan area, 167 towns and 142 communities. Cities, towns and communities have elected councils. The metropolitan area has an appointed board. The local service districts have elected committees.

St. John's, the capital of Newfoundland, was one of the earliest sites of New World settlement. The St. John's metropolitan area covers the area adjoining and surrounding the city of St. John's.

Prince Edward Island has one city and eight towns, all incorporated. In addition, there are 77 communities (formerly styled as villages or community improvement committees) which provide limited local services in rural areas. Charlottetown, the capital, was first incorporated in 1855. Five regional administrative units provide elementary and secondary education for the province, with the individual boards elected by residents of the units.

Nova Scotia is divided into 18 counties; 12 constitute separate municipalities and the remaining six are each divided into two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Within these municipalities are 26 incorporated villages that provide limited services. Three cities and 39 towns, although located within counties or districts, are entirely independent of them, except as to joint expenditures. All parts of the province are municipally organized.

Halifax, capital of Nova Scotia, and part of the largest metropolitan area in the Atlantic provinces, is governed by an elected council, consisting of a mayor and 12 aldermen, one for each of 12 wards.

New Brunswick. The municipal organization, in New Brunswick, includes six cities, 25 towns and 83 villages. The remainder of the province is not municipally organized and is administered by the provincial government. There are 282 unincorporated local service districts which are not municipal organizations but were established to provide services of a municipal nature.

Fredericton is the capital of New Brunswick and the third largest city. Saint John is the largest city and Moncton is second.

Quebec. The more densely settled areas comprising about one-third of the province are municipally organized; the remainder is governed by the province which administers the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.

Since 1981, Quebec has been establishing regional county municipalites for cities, towns and municipalities not organized into urban communities (Quebec and Montreal) or regional communities (Outaouais). The primary responsibility of a regional county municipality is to develop a planning scheme, that is, to define planning objectives and determine land use for its entire territory. It may also be responsible for real estate assessment and for operating a waste management system, to name two examples. The province currently has 95 regional county municipalities.

In 1988, there were 258 towns and cities, 1,220 municipalities governed by the municipal code, 22 other local municipalities (Cree, Naskapi and northern villages), 38 Indian reserves and 118 unorganized territories. Major municipal consolidations began in 1965 with the fusion of the 14 municipalities on Île Jésus into the new city of Laval. In 1970, the Montreal and Quebec Urban Communities and the Outaouais Regional Community were established with integration of municipal services to be staged gradually.

Quebec is the capital city and Montreal is the incorporated city with the largest population.

Ontario. In Ontario, slightly more than 10% of the area includes 95% of the total population and is municipally organized; the remainder is under direct provincial administration. The settled section is divided into one metropolitan municipality, 10 regional municipalities, one district municipality, 27 counties and 10 regional districts. There are 50 cities, including one borough, 145 towns, 119 villages, 478 townships and eight improvement districts. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since January 1954, encompasses five cities and one borough and is responsible for assessments, police, water supply, sewerage, metropolitan road systems and planning. The regional municipalities of Durham, Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara, Ottawa-Carleton, Peel, Sudbury, Waterloo and York have replaced county administrations and assumed certain responsibilities over all municipalities within their boundaries. The District Municipality of Muskoka has responsibilities, similar to those of the regional municipalities, over the reorganized municipalities of the former district of Muskoka. This form of regional government is contemplated in other areas. Each county, although an incorporated municipality, comprises the towns (with the exception of four separated towns), villages and townships within it. Some municipalities are located outside the counties in areas called districts. These districts in Western and Northern Ontario are not municipal entities.